Bridging Language Acquisition and Language Policy Symposium

17 - 18 June 2015

Lund University

Centre for Languages and Literature

Lund, Sweden

The Bridging Language Acquisition and Language Policy symposium explores intersections between two research fields: language policy and language acquisition, which together inform language acquisition planning. The aim of the symposium is to facilitate dialogue about what researchers in the two fields should know about core issues and findings in each other’s areas in order to strengthen and inform endeavors around language acquisition planning. There is a salient need for such dialog because researchers in these two fields together have the potential to influence how politicians and educators create policies that affect how children and adults learn languages for academic, economic, and other purposes.

The underlying premise of the symposium, then, is that language acquisition planning work can be enhanced by sociologists of language and language acquisition researchers mutually raising awareness about the cognitive, sociocultural, and political contexts in which (mother tongue, foreign, and second) language use, acquisition, and teaching take place. By engaging with research work across the two fields, researchers can strengthen their abilities to inform policy stakeholders such as legislators, curriculum planners, educational administrators, teachers, parents, and other community members.


Keynote Speakers

Christine Hélot – University of Strasbourg, France

Elizabeth Lanza – University of Oslo, Norway

Diane Larsen-Freeman – University of Michigan, USA

Virginia C. Mueller Gathercole – Florida International University, USA


Organizing Committee

Francis M. Hult, Lund University

Tanja Kupisch, University of Konstanz

Maarja Siiner, University of Tartu


Scientific Committee

Alia Amir, Linköping University

Mette S. Andersen, Copenhagen Business School

Kara Brown, University of South Carolina

Kimberly Chopin, University of Copenhagen

Peter de Costa, Michigan State University

Slobodanka Dimova, University of Copenhagen

Tina Gunnarsson, Lund University

Marc-Olivier Hinzelin, University of Hamburg

Anne Holmen, University of Copenhagen

Francis M. Hult, Lund University

David Cassels Johnson, University of Iowa

Marie Källkvist, Mälardalen University

Kadri Koreinik, University of Tartu

Tanja Kupisch, University of Konstanz

Conxita Lleó, University of Hamburg

Mary McGroarty, Northern Arizona University

Janus Mortensen, Roskilde University

Katherine Mortimer, University of Texas at El Paso

Åsa Palviainen, University of Jyväskylä

Tanja Rinker, University of Konstanz

Shannon Sauro, Malmö University

Maarja Siiner, University of Tartu

Rita Elaine Silver, National Institute of Education, Singapore

Lisbeth Verstraete-Hansen, Copenhagen Business School

Wayne E. Wright, Purdue University


The symposium is jointly hosted by the Language Acquisition Research Group at the Lund University Centre for Languages and Literature and the Danish Language Policy Network with support provided by the Birgit Rausing Language Programme and the Foundation for Danish-Swedish Co-operation.